Be Curious…

FullSizeRenderFrom: Julie ~

Can someone stop asking me now that I am in my mid 30’s what I want to do with my life? Because the answer will be the same – I have no clue. Clueless like the movie from the 90’s. I could probably give an answer if I had a big fat bank account.

I was contemplating this very question last night as I was fixing my nightly hot tea. The tea bag tag read “Be Curious.” Between texting back and forth my new found tea bag wisdom, April and I came up with a conclusion. We have no idea what it means.

Be curious could stand for “Be adventurous” or “Be ever learning.” It could stand for gaining more wisdom or keeping one’s options open. But really it’s all up to interpretation. I think to me it means to be surprised at the unexpected.

May we never lose our wonder 

May we never lose our wonder 

Wide eyes and mystified, may we be just like a child 

Staring at the beauty of our King.  Bethel Worship

My life doesn’t necessarily look like I thought it would 13 years ago when I graduated college.  (Ok, now I feel uber old) ( I just threw in uber to make myself feel younger) It doesn’t matter what I thought my dream was, it’s just not the same now.

So if I am to “Be curious” or ok with the unexpected I need to be ok with how God has made my life turn out. I need to look to God for my acceptance marker at where I am in His plan and not my own. We measure dreams by a success rate instead of God’s rate. We measure where we think we should be (car, house, relationships, job, bank account, how the world views us) by checks and balances that are not even relevant to our heavenly Father. If when we leave this life, we take nothing with us, why do we struggle with measuring ourselves to an earthly measure?

When a child comes to their parent with curiosity or a question they have faith that the answer they received is true. So why is it when we ask God for the answer to our prayers for the perfect job, relationship, life’s meaning and so forth that we don’t trust Him that He has His best interest in mind for us? We may struggle with “why” more than we trust His perfect placement.

We are striving for a goal, maybe the not the original one from years ago, but a goal non-the-less. Years ago I grew out of my size 6 perfect jeans that made me look like a 6 foot super-model. That is a lot of pressure on a pair of jeans to make you look good and mine did not disappoint. It took me 8 years to slide those perfect denim masterpieces past my thighs and button all 8 buttons 4 inches higher than my bellybutton. Guess what, I never took into account that 8 years later high wasted, 8 button, flair fitted, light colored denim jeans where no longer in style. I can’t tell you how many times in 8 years I would dream upon those jeans or feel like life would be complete when I fit back into them. And when I did, the dream had changed to dark rinse, skinny, low rise, non-button jeggings.

We set our expectations up for failure when we forget to account for God’s wonder. We don’t take into account that His plan is always greater than our view and His outcome always leads to His Glory. The disciples had the same problem with their dream jeans, I mean outlook. Acts 1:6-8 (msg), “When they were together for the last time they asked, “Master, are you going to restore the kingdom for Israel now? Is this the time?” He told them, “You don’t get to know the time. Timing is the Father’s business. What you’’ get is the Holy Spirit. And when the Holy Spirit comes to you, you will be able to be my witnesses in Jerusalem, all over Judea and Samaria, even to the ends of the world.”

They expected their life to look like conquerors of the kingdom but instead God’s plan was that they be witnesses. Witnesses don’t sound as wonderful or valiant as conquerors. But God’s plan needed witnesses to spread His word, His perfect plan and His story of Grace. Thankfully they got on board with His plan and set aside their expectations!

So if you are like me, where you still don’t know what you want to do with your life or it looks different then how you thought it would… Be curious – Have wonder at how God is shaping you into His plan… Know your steps are ordered of Him even though it looks different and … trust Him. The song and our life continue…

 

Cause you are beautiful in all your ways 

Just close your eyes 

Just closed your eyes, you’ll see him 

You are beautiful in all your ways 

Open the eyes of our heart to see you God 

Bethel Worship 

 

 

Leave a Reply

