Living on frustration…

From: Julie ~

Lately I have felt overwhelmed and frustrated. This happens due to busy schedules, 3 kids, church responsibilities and a 45 + hour work week all while trying to find balance and purpose. I feel high on demand. I would love to lose 20 lbs, have time to get coffee with a friend, go on a date with my husband or even fit in more than a 5 minute devotion with God. How do I accomplish this scheduling mayhem?

I don’t… frustration

The definition of Frustrated is: feeling or expressing distress and annoyance, especially because of inability to change or achieve something.

Having the inability to achieve something can lead to a sense of hopelessness or helplessness. Jesus said he would never leave us nor forsake us but in the midst of an over-scheduled under balanced life, we can actually feel alone.

“Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.” Philippians 4:6-7 (msg)

So what I need is a sense of God’s wholeness? Whole like Vitamin D Milk? Like the Whole Foods Store – I am totally down with that! I think what it actually means is that in our body, spirit and mind we have given things to God and because of that His peace and presence fill up those places. If you are filled with His wholeness, Him filling up your helplessness and frustration, He will not forsake you. A few things you can do if you have a crazy life like me are…

Don’t Stop Talking to God…

I am still trying to figure it all out but I know that I can’t shut God out. I have been actually listening to my Bible (it reads to me) on the drive to work. I also have been telling God everything, my joy and my frustrations. I would love to have an hour each day, which I did when I was a stay at home mom, to journal and read more but I have to accept the schedule I have now and work with it.

Don’t lose YOU in YOUr schedule…

This week I have been coming home and taking a 15 minute walk with the dog and my family. Sometimes it’s just one kid and sometimes I have to drag them all out of the house. Last night I was dragging them, but in those fifteen minutes I saw a beautiful sunset, received doggie kisses, witnessed my son skipping and heard about my daughter’s test. It was a moment I felt like the Mom I am supposed to me. It was great before the stress of dinner and bedtime to remember what I love most about me… being a mom. I also have been trying to squeeze in a small bubble bath before bed and going to bed earlier so I feel alive the next day. And I have been allowing myself that extra cup of coffee in the morning, just to treat myself. It may not seem like I have taken out chunks of time for my self-discovery, but those little changes have felt like I was putting myself first for a change.

Saying no does not make you a failure… 

Maybe it’s just me, but when I say no to things I tend to feel I am letting people down. I don’t feel like I am superwoman, but the pressures of a busy schedule can make anyone feel like if they let one thing go everything else will crumble. Sometimes saying no means saying yes to the right things. A friend of mine used to fast every January with her church. Many people fasted food, electronics or social media and every year she chose busyness. She said it started her year off right and would only do the necessary things. She said no to anything extra and just concentrated the whole month to her relationship with God, finding balance again, family, work and time for herself. She would say no to extra volunteering, evening activities that took her away from home, tv or social media to distract her and much more. She said yes to a 30 day spiritual devotional, dates every week with her husband, reading a book series to her children at night, bubble baths and quiet time.

As we figure out the frustrated schedule of life together don’t forget that you are not the only one. I think if we did a poll, many people would feel like they are frustrated or feel helpless with at least one situation in their life. Just know you are not alone. So take a deep breath, grab a cup of tea or coffee and remember tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it.

“I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me.” Philippians 3:12-14 (msg)

Leave a Reply

