Prayers of blessing

Taking care of new development

From Julie:

I sat at my desk this morning, before the start of my busy day, drinking a Costa Rican dark roast. The aroma filled the space and as I lifted the coffee to take that first sip, I saw the writing on my coffee cup.

My coffee cup was hand crafted and painted by a famous local artist that shares words of wisdom. You may not have heard of his genius masterpieces, but my fridge door and magnets have seen all the early workings of this up and coming Michelangelo. His five year old brain might not be fully developed into maturity but his art leaves me speechless. 🙂 I am also a little partial as his mother.

I got to thinking about his hand print and words on the side of my cup. I immediately felt guilty about any confrontation I may have had with him this morning trying to drag him from slumber to get showered and dressed for school. (Every morning he swears he has already taken a shower before I even woke up, ha) I thought about how small he still is even though I talk to him as if he is older sometimes because of how smart he is and how I am still responsible to make sure his teeth are brushed and shoes tied.

I thought about how I pray over him at night and on the way to school to improve his listening skills and immediately felt guilty for not praying more over him during the day. So in this moment I bowed my head and prayed a prayer of blessing over him. I prayed Jesus would keep him and that he would know God in such a special way. I prayed for his future and that he would hear Gods voice in a very loud world. I prayed blessings over his future spouse and children and job. I didn’t ask God to help him over come the issues we have or for him to do better at school. I didn’t pray for me to be a better mother to him. I only prayed for blessings not solutions.

I think a lot of times we pray solutions over people more than blessings with nothing in return. We ask God to help our kids listen, us to be better parents or spouses or friends. We ask for a solution to a problem or a quick prayer in an emergency. But how often do we just pray a prayer of blessing asking nothing in return?

“All these blessings will come upon you and overtake you if you obey the LORD your God: “Blessed shall you be in the city, and blessed shall you be in the country. “Blessed shall be the offspring of your body and the produce of your ground and the offspring of your beasts, the increase of your herd and the young of your flock. “Blessed shall be your basket and your kneading bowl. “Blessed shall you be when you come in, and blessed shall you be when you go out. “The LORD shall cause your enemies who rise up against you to be defeated before you; they will come out against you one way and will flee before you seven ways. The LORD will command the blessing upon you in your barns and in all that you put your hand to, and He will bless you in the land which the LORD your God gives you.”
‭‭Deuteronomy‬ ‭28:2-8‬ ‭NASB

When we pray for our families, friends even strangers we should take some time to just pray for blessings. Prayers of blessings are like planting little seeds. When I was a child we planted watermelon seeds. I had no concept that’s those tiny seeds take a long time to sprout or grow. All I thought was if I put it in the grown and watered it the next day I would have a big fat watermelon! It actually takes around 120 days from seed to fruit to produce watermelon. For a small child 120 days seems like 120 years or more.

When we pray prayers of blessings over someone and not just prayers for solutions, we need to be patient. It’s not necessarily a fruit or ending we may ever see because it’s a prayer of faith and laying that person in God’s hands. Prayers of blessings are hoping for the best and the fullest and the greatest for someone. Prayers of blessing are taking our wants and desires out of the equation for that person. Prayers of blessings are given from a heart that is open to seeing God work in ways we never dreamed or imagined.

If I don’t pray blessings over my family or friends, who will? In this crazy world with so many negative influences we have to stand in the gap and pray for blessings over people. It looks like this, instead of seeing that crazy mom in Walmart yelling at her kids and asking God to take away her issues maybe I should also include prayers of blessing. I should pray joy and a huge basket of blessing in her life so that she can see God is good and He loves her.

I am guilty of praying for a lot more solution prayers than I am blessings… are you?

My cup reads, “I love mom! Ian.” My heart says, “I love you too and so I will continue to pray blessings over you not just prayers to fix what I think needs fixing, but prayers of hope, blessing and joy.”

 

image

 

 

Leave a Reply

