through all of it

From: Julie

Thankful, I am thankful. I have a God who loves me even when I don’t deserve it. He saw me before I was born or even existed and He loved me. Saw potential in me, knew my insecurities… He gave me grace. And through all of it – I am thankful.

Faithful, he is faithful. In moments of doubt and darkness… In moments of pure joy when I cry tears of happiness, He is faithful. When I am discouraged, unfaithful to him, lonely beyond recognition and can’t see the light, He is faithful. When I have doubt or question and ask Him a million times for a different answer, He is faithful. When I was at my lowest living in a foreign place and scared, or in the purest joy of holding a brand new baby, He was faithful. When I experienced loss, when I thought my dreams had died, when I felt abandoned.. he was faithful. When I hear my daughter laugh or dance in the living room with my husband, through all of it – He is faithful.

“Know therefore that the LORD your God, He is God, the faithful God, who keeps His covenant and His lovingkindness to a thousandth generation with those who love Him and keep His commandments;” Deuteronomy‬ ‭7:9‬ ‭NASB‬‬

Constant, He is constant. Even when my circumstances change, He never does. God consistently walks beside me and His promises never change. He is like the boat in the storm or the calm – always there to keep me above the water. He says over and over again how He loves me. His love is constant. When I felt life change or that a storm was coming or I was walking in the driest desert with cracked and bloody feet from life, He was constant. In death, love and loss, He is there when I sit, when I rise and through all of it – He is constant.

“O LORD, You have searched me and known me. You know when I sit down and when I rise up; You understand my thought from afar.”‭‭Psalms‬ ‭139:1-2‬ ‭NASB‬‬

Peace, He is peace. When I sit and reflect on my life and when I had the most peace it wasn’t necessarily in the calmest times. It’s because God is peace, true peace that can only come from knowing He is beside me. When I cried out in anguish in the night from pain deep inside, calm came and His peace was present. When I would hold a colic crying baby and rock her till my arms ached, I would sing “peace, peace wonderful peace, coming down from the father above.” Instant peace and calm would come over her and she would sleep. When I have cried and prayed with my friends over loss in their lives, it’s His peace that takes over. And through all of it – He is peace.

“Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.” ‭‭John‬ ‭14:27‬ ‭NASB‬‬

Protection, He is protection. When I hear about a friend of ours that has gone through a car accident and the vehicle was totaled, but our friend was ok, that is God’s protection. After losing a baby, then getting pregnant with our daughter and being in a horrible accident where others died and my almost 10 year old is alive because of one thing, His protection. He didn’t just physically protect me He has emotionally protected me. Asking for things that I thought where right at the time, yet His answer was no, that was also protecting me. Seeing people walk through abuse and addiction and abandonment but still raising their hands in surrender to God on Sunday morning, through all of it – that is His protection.
Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name; you are Mine! “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, Nor will the flame burn you. “For I am the LORD your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior… ‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭43:1-3‬ ‭NASB‬‬

Sacrifice, He has given His all. Today of all days is a reminder of His sacrifice. Good Friday represents the horrible things Jesus went through to sacrificed Himself for my sins. He paid a price for me, He gave everything and rescued me from the life that I would have had if I hadn’t accepted Him as my savior. Every scar and nail, every word of ridicule he heard on the cross, was all for sacrifice – taking my place. He was broken and bruised, he was scorned and beaten and died all for one thing, sacrifice. He took our place. He didn’t ask, he just gave freely and through all of it – He was the sacrificial lamb.

“and walk in love, just as Christ also loved you and gave Himself up for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God as a fragrant aroma.”‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭5:2‬ ‭NASB‬

And through all of it in your life He has been faithful even when you didn’t see it. He has been constantly beside you even when you didn’t see Him. He has given you peace when you walked through a storm even when you didn’t know it was Him. He has protected you probably in moments when you where not even aware. But most of all, through all of it, He has sacrificed… So that you would have eternal life. “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” ‭‭     Romans‬ ‭5:8‬ ‭NASB‬‬

Today, join me in being thankful for what He has done through all of it. And if you don’t know yet, just believe and confess in your heart that He is God. Because … through all of it… He loves you.

 “I have won; I have lost; I got it right sometimes and sometimes I did not, life’s been a journey, I’ve seen joy, I’ve seen regret. Oh and you have been my God through all of it.” Colton Dixon “Through all of it”

Leave a Reply

