Don’t Stop Believing

From April-

So what’s your calling? Do you know?

We always have this huge picture in our minds of what our calling in life is. Like some ground breaking, life changing, take the world by the storm picture.

But is a calling and a dream the same thing? Not even close.

As a kid, my dreams (even literal ones while I slept) were covered in Olympic rings. I knew my blood ran red, white, and blue and I even felt myself on that Olympic podium. I could not wait to get there. My team mates were my best friends and we were all going to the Olympics. Together.

Then I broke my back and all turned to crap.

God rerouted my GPS to journey me more towards my purpose. Is that how I saw it at the age of 14 and I knew my career would never be the same? Nope. I hated life (very dramatic).

What I didn’t realize, was that I was already serving my purpose for that period in my life every single day. As an encouraging team mate and a light to those around me, including my coaches.

And had I gone on to take Australia by the boomerangs, I would have never landed this glamourous life I’m living now. So there you have it, everything for a reason.

As children we have huge dreams of what we will become when we “grow up”. As adults, we stop calling them “Dreams” and start referring to them as “goals”, all while lowering the bar. Dreaming big is too risky right?  And somewhere down the line, we assume our goals are equal to our calling. Um no.

They are not the same.

BUT, we can absolutely fulfill our calling THROUGH our dreams, or even in the process. Life isn’t about the destination, it’s about the journey, because that’s where God works.

Take Paul…

Do you think his big dream in life was to land in prison? Probably not.

But his time there allowed him to write some of the most influential parts of the bible. It’s 2000 years later, and we are still reading his “blogs”.

He writes this in Ephesians 4:13

“I therefore, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, eager to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.”

This was in one of his letters from prison, and all while he was being beaten and tortured. He was not well at this point in time. And yet, he is able to encourage us to be fruitful.

He was doing the Lords work and,  well…. You could say things turned to crap for him too. But he never saw it that way. His calling wasn’t to preach from mountain tops or to the masses. He wasn’t being stopped from fulfilling his purpose simply because he was behind bars.  It was to simply share Jesus. And sharing Jesus meant showing love. And that, he did.

He writes, “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation” in Philippians 4:12

We can fulfill our calling from wherever we are in life. Problem is, we tend to think we are not in “a place” to be used. We stop believing we could be or should be.

Even when our dreams and goals change as we maneuver through life, our calling never has to.

Our calling in life doesn’t have to be in some far off distant future either. You might already be fulfilling your calling right where you sit. The scenery may change day to day, as life does, but we are living out our callings as we speak. We just need to recognize it. You might be in a really nasty place right now. God can use it. But in order for Him to use it, we have to believe He can. We have to be willing to use the prison bars and the beatings.

Live for today. Let’s do our best for the Lord right now, whether we are punching keys at a computer, building houses, serving food, cleaning toilets, or sitting behind bars…. He can use it.

“So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God” 1 Corinthians 10:31, also written by Paul.

As God’s strategy played out in my life, I too, felt like I was in a prison and being beat down. But in my darkest hours, in my quietest moments, when life was not looking good in any direction…. God’s calling on my life was being played out. Scene by scene, and moment by moment…. I was living in the calling and i didn’t even realize who I was impacting and whose lives were being touched.

Even in death, we can live out our calling. Sometimes, our purpose COMES OUT OF our death.

I mean, after all, the only reason any of us are here right now is because Someone’s calling was to die.

Jesus’ sole purpose for being placed here was to be sacrificed. For us.

Could we accept that if we knew that was our calling?

Doubt it. But we are going to die one way or another, so we might as well make it count.

If we continue to allow our mindset to be planted in the “future” version of our calling, we will miss it while it’s right under our noses. Jesus walked this earth every day fulfilling his calling. He knew how the story would play out, but he continued to find joy in His daily walk. He continued to show love to the “least of us” Because He knew was fulfilling his purpose. And of course, the story didn’t end there…. We continue that purpose WITH Him now.

We are the ones who make it complicated. We are the ones who stopped believing we could be used or  that we could have a divine calling.

Matthew 22: 37-39 says….

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

This is the foundation of our calling. Set your mind on these things and watch how the Lord uses you to fulfill His calling on your life.

Don’t be afraid to dream BIG, but don’t take the Journey for granted. And most of all, Don’t Stop Believing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

