Bloom

From: Julie

A sign used to hang on our front door. We moved it from state to state and apartment to house, but I would always find a way to hang it even if it reflected the wrong season.

“Bloom where you are planted” hung on a little wooden board with some dried flowers glued to it. It wasn’t a fancy sign and didn’t flash designer. It was more of a reminder to me than a sign to welcome friends.

This sign reminded me that I had to make the choice to bloom wherever I found myself. Sometimes that could be a psychical location and sometimes that is an emotional place. But in order to bloom a few things have to happen first.

First I think you can’t be afraid to lay down a few roots – even if temporary. These “roots” help you stand firm on what you believe, how you react in any circumstance and how others see the way you react. The setting may change but your reaction can be a deal breaker or maker. I’ve watched people go through change, moves, life altering moments and it’s the ones who know what their “roots” are that come out on top. If you know what you believe, what keeps you grounded and look to that first before you react, you will be better for it.

Second, I think it’s all in how we perceive the situation that helps us to bloom. Back in college, internally in my mind, I was always dissatisfied with my physical location and wanted to move back north. I never appreciated where I lived or friendships I made. I was only looking at present and not future. Leap ahead a few years (no need to date my self here;) and lo and behold I live back in the same community I went to college in. Now I love the area and see it with new eyes. If I had only perceived differently years ago without my emotions clouding my judgement I might have actually enjoyed those 4 years much more.

Third, blossoming on a tree is an indication that something new is happening. Maybe fruit or amazing foliage is coming. In order to “Bloom where you are planted” it means that you have aligned your values, your reactions and your perception and because of that you are producing good fruit. If the fruit that’s coming after a change isn’t looking so good, then maybe you need to go back to those roots and start back at square one. If your fruit is stinky then maybe you need to go back to how you are looking at the circumstance. When your view changes so will everything else around you and it will start to look and smell a whole lot better. Our children, especially, take our queues from us when it comes to change. They may only be reacting the way they have seen you react.  So remember today, regardless of what’s going on around you and regardless if you can change the outcome or not… “Bloom where you are planted.”

“He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water, Which yields its fruit in its season And its leaf does not wither; And in whatever he does, he prospers.”‭‭Psalm‬ ‭1:3‬ ‭

Leave a Reply

