tomorrow

From: Julie –

I have been grumpy for the last few days. Some kind of grumpy funk I couldn’t get myself out of and did all I could not to say or do anything stupid to make other’s around me grumpy as well. I didn’t sleep good, cried while making breakfast… you know the usual crazy stuff. Then something happened at 5:50 am this morning.

I woke up blissfully happy and the sun was waking up too. The shower was just the right temperature and I felt like my black pants where super large, which means I lost 10 lbs overnight in my sleep. (love it when that happens) My coffee cup had the perfect amount of creamer! The birds were chirping brightly outside and my eggs all came out sunny side up. The world was lovely again and my case of the grumps were over.

Morning started me out singing, “The sun will come out tomorrow… Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya tomorrow, its only a day away…” But by 5 pm on the way home, stuck in traffic, my grumpiness was starting to creep back in.

I made it through dinner grumpy, homework with kids grumpy, walking the dog 5,000 times because she needs the perfect piece of grass to go grumpy, pj’s and then 5 trips to the kids room because 1 kiss and prayer was not enough… you get the picture. (I am sure this nightly routine probably sounds like craziness to some and relate-able to others)

Then came the magical hour between 8:30 and 9:30 pm in every mother’s home – the silent, sleeping house hour. All was right with the world and I again started singing “Tomorrow” just like Annie in the movie. My hair may have looked like hers at this point, too.

As I felt calm again, I started to question what was really going on with my crazy mood swings – I am too young to blame it on menopause yet. I think I may have figured it out… its all about perspective. You see my life over the last few days was not any different then my normal life, yet I chose to walk through it grumpy. And the nightly drive home and dinner was no different then any other night… its just that I let it all pile up in front of my perspective. I couldn’t see through the cloud I had placed in front of me and so what little I could see was so narrow that I lost the joy in it.

“The Lord’s loving-kindnesses indeed never cease, For His compassion’s never fail. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23

Another famous Ann character said something profound once that I tell my children a lot. “Tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet.”  She also said, “It’s been my experience that you can nearly always enjoy things if you make up your mind firmly that you will.” Ann of Green Gables 

So tomorrow will be a new day and I will pick up a new perspective. It is up to me to make sure that the view in front of my perspective is clear. Its up to me to make sure I can enjoy the craziness of my life. I don’t want to sit on the sidelines glued to my seat by grumpiness or lack of joy. I want to be right in the middle of the action – it may be crazy and wild and I may still long sometimes for that magical mom hour between 8:30 and 9:30, but I don’t want it clouded by bad perspective. I don’t want my kids to pick up on that view and feel they have to walk through life with a jaded view always waiting for the other shoe to drop. I want them to have a clear view of a brighter tomorrow with all its sunny side up eggs.

Make up your mind with me to enjoy life tomorrow, its only a day away… and already it has no mistakes in it.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

