a love their own

From: Julie-

What do I pray about the most for my daughter’s besides boo-boos and warding off bad dreams? I pray for a love that is their own. Someone who will hold them in the bad times, challenge them to know Christ more, a better person, a better friend and will show them tenderness, joy and protection.

Jeremiah and I met at my house for college and career small group night. We joke about that night now and our whirlwind romance but really there where 3 things that stood out to me at first impression.

First, I could tell right off the bat that he loved to laugh and didn’t even mind laughing at himself. He can roll with the punches and has the driest humor. Looking back at the last 13 years I remember moments where we laughed in bed so hard we woke the kids. I remember one funny incident where I laughed so hard it hurt. We where stuck in a bathroom on a wedding dinner cruise, me 7 months pregnant and after using the restroom needing his assistance because I couldn’t get my pantyhose back up. I still laugh about that moment and all the funny comments he made. (Lesson learned about wearing pantyhose at 7 months preggo)

The laugh lines on his face are attractive to me because I know that it is because of this laughter that we have been able to get through stressful times. So I pray that my girls will find someone who will always make them laugh and will bring them a joy of their own.

“A joyful heart makes a cheerful face, But when the heart is sad, the spirit is broken.”   Proverbs‬ ‭15:13‬ ‭

Second, I noticed how kind he was. He first walked into my house by opening the door for another person and then asked if he could assist with clean up. He has always done the dishes in our house mostly because he knows that is my least favorite chore. He has shown kindness to strangers and never asks for things in return. I have seen him give his last dollar and even give away our own belongings to help someone in need. I have seen him quietly give to causes and love that his goal in life is to bless others more than himself. He has rubbed my sore pregnant feet and held me in moments of dispair. He has never made me feel like taking care of me is a chore and shows this same kindness to our children. My daughters have no idea how blessed they are to have someone show them kindness every day but I pray that they will find someone who always puts them first and will continue to show them kindness in every situation.

“Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.”     John‬ ‭15:13‬ ‭

Lastly on first impression, I knew He loved God. It was evident and unwavering. It wasn’t loud and showy but internal on his firm belief of who God was in his life. Within the first few hours of meeting, I knew Jesus was his constant and that he relied on God for his direction. He asked me, a few days after we met, what I looked for in a guy and followed it up with telling me his favorite scripture. I knew that falling head over heals shortly after that, regardless of life’s road blocks, he knew his foundation in Jesus was solid. I didn’t want someone who changed direction every time something came their way… I wanted someone who was consistent with His faith.

I have never doubted in any situation we have been through if he was going to walk away from God. I always know he will run to Him first.

“I love those who love me; And those who diligently seek me will find me.”   ‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭8:17‬

I pray my daughters will find a love of their own who is steadfast on his course in life. I pray they will find someone who not only loves Jesus more than they do but who will challenge them to dig deeper in their faith. I can’t tell you how many times Jeremiah, in love and with kindness, has told me that I needed to bring whatever I was facing to God. He has prayed for me and over me when I couldn’t speak the words myself. He has read scripture over situations in my life. He has whispered God’s promises into hardships we have faced. He stands firm and I am praying for someone for my girls who loves Jesus more than he even loves them. I am praying for a love of their own – one that is blessed by God that will reflect the love of God in every aspect of their life.

So what I will tell my daughters is this: You may think this fairytale doesn’t exist and my life nor marriage is perfect, but remember God has a perfect plan just for you. Don’t settle for less and look and recognize red flags. If they meet only some criteria but falter on other things, run! Settling will only bring hardship and you will miss out on the love that God designed just for you.

The right person will show you a love that is your own, something you will be proud of and cherish and want to write blogs about. 😉

“Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.‭‭   1 Corinthians‬ ‭13:4-8‬

Leave a Reply

