hit repeat again…

by: Julie  ~

I fall in love with songs and tend to play and hit repeat a thousand times before I either break the record or hate the song in the end. Over the years a few songs stick out that have landed in my category of “hit repeat again.”

  • “Baby, Baby” by Amy Grant
  • “I will always love you” by Mariah Carey
  • “Bye, Bye, Bye” by NSYNC
  • “I am a friend of God” Israel Houghton
  • Anything by Kari Jobe in general
  • “Success is in your hand” by Fred Hammond
  • “Take Courage” by Bethel Music

By hitting repeat a thousand times, these songs have gotten into the core of me and not always for the best. So we are camping a few weeks ago and while swimming NSYNC comes on the loud speakers. I felt like I needed to immediately drop my pool noodle and belt out the lyrics much to my 11 year olds horror. But never the less 17 years after its release date, I still know all the words to Bye, Bye, Bye. (I feel like I should insert a finger snap here like “oh, I still got it”)

So why do I still remember 17-year-old lyrics – because I hit repeat a thousand times. The words are second nature and at any moment could come to memory.

So why don’t I do this in my prayer life and reading God’s word? Why is it in moments of weakness I doubt His goodness or faithfulness? Probably because I get run down with life and I forget to hit the repeat button. I lack at consistently engraining His word in my heart, so when I falter I can bring it to memory and speak it over my life. I fail at praying specifically for something over and over, until I feel the breakthrough instead offering quick fix-it prayers that sound more like complaints and whining. I am human and I am the broken record.

I realize I jump from idea to idea – which can be fun and spontaneous – but like a vinyl record skipping… it creates scratches and lack of follow through.

I really want to be in the exact purpose God has created for me, instead of constantly feeling that I am missing what He has for me due to not taking the actual time to figure it out. I need to quiet my intentions so I can hear His direction for my family, life and overall purpose. In order to do that, I have to hit repeat again.

  • Repeated time in His word
  • Repeated time in prayer
  • Repeated time praying more than complaining
  • Repeated time remembering His faithfulness
  • Repeated time worshipping even when I lack joy
  • Waiting for His voice before I jump ship
  • And when I fail, hit repeat again

Maybe your praying for direction, healing, family or more. Maybe you realize its been a while since you where consistant in your walk with God. So if you need to hit repeat again I am challenging you, and myself, to commit to hitting repeat for the next 30 days. April and I will be posting a scripture or word of encouragement here on this blog for 30 days to keep us and you accountable. So here is the challenge, if you choose to accept it:

  1. Write down a list of things you need to pray for 
  • This is not a wish list
  • Try not to just make them all about you šŸ˜‰
  • Keep the list small and purposeful

2. Spend at least 30 minutes in uninterrupted prayer

  • A scheduled time not just throughout the day
  • Ideas: 30 minute drive to work, actually getting up early, skipping a tv show, praying before bed

3. Read at least one scripture passage a day

  • Pick a book of the Bible and read a passage each day
  • Follow our blog for daily scripture

4. And if you fail one day out of 30 – HIT REPEAT AGAIN!

 

I’m excited to see where this journey takes us! Julie 

Leave a Reply

