Day 6: Hit repeat again – 30 day challenge

Even If….

I will praise the Lord no matter what happens. I will constantly speak of his glories and grace.[a] I will boast of all his kindness to me. Let all who are discouraged take heart. Let us praise the Lord together and exalt his name.

Psalm 34:1-3

Earlier this week, one of my daughter’s coaches sent me a text containing a youtube video of Bart Millard, lead singer of Mercy Me, about to sing a very powerful song live. But before he does, he prefaces with the meaning behind their song, Even If.  

To watch it, click here:  https://youtu.be/WHosmHnOrb8

In a nutshell, he says “life just sucks sometimes”. He goes on to explain some background in his family, and it is very powerful. Make sure you have tissues.

Like their family, and mine, I’m sure many of you have experienced life at it’s suckiest at one point or another. Bart’s story shares some common factors with my family’s story. So it hit very close to home.

As I texted my daughter’s coach back and forth, I learned that about 5 years ago, her father committed suicide, and she, like us, has seen life through new eyes. Most “issues” in everyday life are now trivial. But somehow, she is able to praise God as she and her sister still feel the sting of shock that this tragedy really happened. Her love for God and the peace she carries overcomes the circumstance every day.

Some lyrics to Even If…

“They say it only takes a little faith
To move a mountain
Well good thing
A little faith is all I have, right now
But God, when You choose
To leave mountains unmovable
Oh give me the strength to be able to sing
It is well with my soul”

Shortly after this conversation, Julie texted me about how traffic was jammed because there was a guy about to jump off a bridge. The SWAT team was attempting to talk him down.

I can’t help but wonder what has happened in this man’s life. Does he know God? Does he suffer from mental illness? Either way, at that moment, he was done with it.

We’ve all been there. And God knows if there had been an easy and convenient way out in those darkest moments, we too may have needed to be “talked down off the bridge”.

Praising God no matter what doesn’t mean you are happy about the circumstances. It means you reverence Him. It means you TRUST that there is a plan in the mess, and that He will use it to further His kingdom.  It doesn’t mean you can’t be angry, and cry. It means you gather up any energy you have left to reach your hand out and grab His, because He is already there to help you up.

Ask yourself :

  • What mountains in my life currently seem “immovable”?
  • Will I allow myself praise God through it? Even if they don’t move?
  • Have I given it over to Him in prayer?
  • How can I use my circumstances (or any) to help others and praise God?

30 day challenge – read more in the hit repeat again previous blog…

  1. Write down a list of things you need to pray for 
  • This is not a wish list
  • Try not to just make them all about you 😉
  • Keep the list small and purposeful

2. Spend at least 30 minutes in uninterrupted prayer

  • A scheduled time not just throughout the day
  • Ideas: 30 minute drive to work, actually getting up early, skipping a tv show, praying before bed

3. Read at least one scripture passage a day

  • Pick a book of the Bible and read a passage each day
  • Follow our blog for daily scripture

4. And if you fail one day out of 30 – HIT REPEAT AGAIN!

Leave a Reply

