Day 12: Hit repeat again – 30 day challenge

App Overload ~

I was carousing through my phone this morning looking for a health app that I thought I installed last week. It was supposed to tell me when to move, exercise, sleep and even drink water. Yeah, sometimes I need something to remind me to drink water. I have a busy life and with that sometimes I forget what I need to remember the most.

“There seems to be an app for everything these days.” How many times have I heard someone say that. But the thing is, even with a million apps, I will still find a new one to download that I think will make my life easier… current news, shared calendars, finances, health, photos, selfies, and it just goes downhill from there. There is even a Bible app that will help me follow a reading plan everyday. Reading this makes me on app overload because all though I have all these apps, I don’t always apply their constant reminders.

Jesus isn’t an app. He doesn’t have a button on our tablet or phone that will keep beeping (or making that cricket noise) to remind us to check in with Him.

He just wants you to check in with Him, because He created us to have a relationship with Him. I can only image a IT app expert angel in Heaven trying to create an app that will help us check in with our Creator. Yeah, its sounds pretty dumb but hasn’t our life come to this… needing constant reminders to check in with Jesus?

I shouldn’t need a app tell me what to read or when to pray to God, it should be already automatic thing in my life. It should already be a habit that I don’t need a constant beep to get me to accomplish the task. Because being with Jesus, isn’t checking off a task for the day. Spending time with Jesus means He is my first thought, my first go to in my decisions. Spending time with Jesus means that the fruit displayed in my life is kind, loving, not-selfish, patient and trustworthy. Spending time with Jesus isn’t a chore – it is precious.

So how do I make spending time with God, who created my being and the mountains and sea, a habit? It takes 16 times to form a habit. Your on day 12 of this “Hit Repeat Again” 30 day challenge. Keep at it. Keep praying and reading His word. We are walking this with you too, not just preaching to you, because we know that being consistent in  our relationship with Jesus needs to be the best practiced habit in our lives. You have only a few more days to create a permanent habit in your life and then maybe you wont need an app to remind you to speak to your Savior.

And if you have not been consistent the last 12 days… hit repeat again!

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.” Philippians 4:8-9


 

30 day challenge – read more in the “hit repeat again” previous blog…

1. Write down a list of things you need to pray for

  • This is not a wish list
  • Try not to just make them all about you
  • Keep the list small and purposeful

2. Spend at least 30 minutes in uninterrupted prayer

  • A scheduled time not just throughout the day
  • Ideas: 30 minute drive to work, actually getting up early, skipping a tv show, praying before bed

3. Read at least one scripture passage a day

  • Pick a book of the Bible and read a passage each day
  • Follow our blog for daily scripture

4. And if you fail one day out of 30 –HIT REPEAT AGAIN!

Leave a Reply

