Day 14: Hit repeat again – 30 day challenge

these four walls…

Taking our salvation for granted is easy for most of us. Because we are American. But there are even more walls than borders.

Some of us were raised in a godly home and brought up in a way that would eventually lead to our accepting of Jesus as our savior.  Like fisherman who teach their kids to fish, or farmers who teach their kids to plow. Or like me, Christians who teach their kids to love Jesus. The need for salvation was hard to grasp because I was raised very protected. I was raised to love Jesus, and I did. I just didn’t know why I needed to. Everyone who surrounded my life loved Jesus and I never saw raw authenticity or the desperate longing and need for Christ.  I realize now that It was there. Just never to be seen or heard of.

It was something that actually bothered me because I would see people have so much excitement and joy for their salvation. It was hard for me to understand that my salvation was MINE and not “inherited”.

I remember praying for God to use me, because I didn’t believe that I had anything useful to reach people with. I stayed out of trouble in school, mostly because I was a competitive gymnast and in the gym everyday for hours. There was no time to do anything else (not that i would have been a bad kid or anything….. but maybe).

After I prayed to God to give me something to use….He did. It was over the course of many years, but He did.

My advice is, do not pray that prayer unless you are serious about wanting to be used by God.

It was then and only then that I could read this verse and truly understand and claim my own salvation.

In this you greatly rejoice, even though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been distressed by various [c]trials, so that the [d]proof of your faith, being more precious than gold which [e]is perishable, even though tested by fire, may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ;

1 Peter 1:6-7

I’m not saying that tragedy must strike for you to be used. But some people are a little more hard-headed than others. Sometimes, that’s what it takes to appreciate our true inheritance. Sometimes, getting people out of their “spiritual four walls” takes an act of God.

I’ve never seen Jesus in person, but I’ve seen Him in others. And I’ve seen His work in my own life. And that is enough.

and though you have not seen Him, you love Him, and though you do not see Him now, but believe in Him, you greatly rejoice with joy inexpressible and [f]full of glory, obtaining as the outcome of your faith the salvation of [g]your souls.

1 Peter 1:8-9

Salvation does not mean you will be physically guarded from tragedy or trials. It may actually bring more. But in these times, your salvation will bring you unthinkable strength and guidance. There will be nothing that can destroy you or separate you from the Love of Jesus.

Questions to ask:

  • How do I view my own salvation? Do I appreciate it?
  • How can I use my own struggles, tragedies, and trials to further the kingdom?

 

30 day challenge – read more in the “hit repeat again” previous blog…

1. Write down a list of things you need to pray for

  • This is not a wish list
  • Try not to just make them all about you
  • Keep the list small and purposeful

2. Spend at least 30 minutes in uninterrupted prayer

  • A scheduled time not just throughout the day
  • Ideas: 30 minute drive to work, actually getting up early, skipping a tv show, praying before bed

3. Read at least one scripture passage a day

  • Pick a book of the Bible and read a passage each day
  • Follow our blog for daily scripture

4. And if you fail one day out of 30 –HIT REPEAT AGAIN!

Leave a Reply

